Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Amsterdam part deux

I'm not sure what this car is. The symbol on the hood looks like a gecko. It's definitely one of the coolest cars that I have come across.

This was my first time in Amsterdam, I didn't really know anything about it before I went. This was the only weekend trip that I didn't have planned and when it turned out that I couldn't go to London, Phil told me to come to Amsterdam with him. It turned out to be a great trip.

The city has amazing scenery and big canals, I could have wandered around for days. Sadly, I only really had Saturday to wander. We saw the Anne Frank house and the Van Gogh museam. We were going to tour the Heineken brewery and get the "Heineken Experience" that we had been told was pretty cool, but it closed before we could go.

All in all, I loved Amsterdam because it is such a large city, but at the same time has the atmosphere of a quiet village. Except for the red light district of course, which was an interesting experience to say the least. Lots of crazy sights to see there.

I am very much looking forward to this weekend, when I will be in Paris. We (Veronica and I) will be taking the 7 am train on Friday and (because of booking issues) the 5:45am train back on Monday. We are leaving early on Monday in order to make an 8:30 Lab since there were absolutely no available trains on Sunday.

So, this means that I will get essentially 3 full days and nights in Paris! I can't wait.

No comments:

Post a Comment